In case you missed it, download "As For Me."

Portable is Alan Abrahams, a South African born artist and producer who is also a celebrated live act. Emerging more than fifteen years ago with a sound that marries real electronic soul with deep moods and abstract grooves, he is someone who has released his minimal wares on cult labels like Perlon and Live At Robert Johnson, as well as his own Süd Electronic. Always experimenting with rhythm and imbuing his music with a wide world of influences, this latest work that proves that once more.

Portable’s music reached a new level of exposure when the 2014 track “Surrender” received a “Best New Track” designation from Pitchfork, and appeared in re-edited form on DJ Koze’s critically acclaimed DJ-Kicks mix (named the #1 mix of 2015 by Resident Advisor). Portable signed to !K7, and is to release his sixth full length artist album through the label in August 2016. The 11 track affair is his most personal yet, and as such is a self-titled work that features plenty of his own vocal work, as well as some choice collaborations.

Alan Abrahams was written over the last two years, during the emotional break up of a relationship and the formation of a new one, and that is very much conveyed throughout. Says the man himself, “this album is also a natural progression from dance music into something akin to a mutated musical style that incorporates stuff I listen to all the time such as classical, African and new jazz.” This album is also noteworthy from the off in that it places Portable’s own vocals front and centre, as well as showcasing some very real song writing skills that makes for music that stands up to listening in many different contexts, not just the club. The album also comes with some of Abrahams’ own piano playing, as well as a number of music videos he has made himself.

Opening with the beautifully tragic violins of ‘Your Warrior’ featuring Aletchko (who also plays on ‘As For Me’) Portable’s sombre spoken word vocals add to the sense of forlornness. From there the mood picks up with the supple house optimism of ‘Say It’s Gonna Change Soon’ before ‘Closer’ is a subtly rousing number featuring guitar from Knox Chandler (who has worked with Susie and the Banshees and Cindy Lauper). Again Portable’s vocals are vulnerable and poignant, then ‘More Than’ finds him cooking up serene electornic soul and ‘As For Me’ has a soothing hymnal feel that is pregnant with emotion.

The second half of the album introduces Afro tinged house on ‘Bondage,’ absorbing and deep jazz stylings on ‘The Loneliness Of The Long Distance Drinker’ and colourful, synthetic grooves on ’Seraphin’. Very much playing out with the rawness and heartfelt feel of a break up, the last three tracks feature tender piano playing and a sense of late night romanticism that sounds like avant pop music from a very adult world. 

This is the most complete and personal statement yet from Abrahams, and one that invites us deep into his inner psyche. It is a fascinating place to be.

01. Your Warrior feat. Kinoo, Aletchko & Johannes Schön
02. Say It's Going To Change
03. Closer ft. Knox Chandler
04. More Than
05. As For Me feat. Kinoo & Aletchko
06. Bondage
07. The Loneliness Of The Long Distance Drinker
08. Séraphin
09. The Year My Dreams Come True
10. This Frozen Lake feat. Kinoo
11. Standby

For more info, please contact trevor@scorepress.com, 323.254.4027.