Label: !k7

Will Saul Presents New Album Under 'Close' Moniker
Debut Album Getting Closer Features Scuba, Fink, Appleblim, Tanner Ross & more

Will Saul, the man behind Simple Records and Aus Music, presents a new project: Close. Originally conceived as an anonymous outlet for a series of remixes, the Close project has grown into a collaborative endeavor with some of Will's artistic peers, as well as a means for the producer and DJ to explore an intimate and delicate new sonic territory.

  Within the world of electronic music, Will Saul is perhaps best known for Aus Music andSimple Records, the labels he set up and has A&Red for over a decade. The two labels have been responsible for over 100 vinyl releases from the influential likes of Joy Orbison, Carl Craig, Pearson Sound, Scuba and Actress, as well as EPs that helped to break upcoming talents like Bicep, Dusky, Midland and George FitzGerald. In addition to releasing a constant stream of on-point remixes and 12”s throughout his career, Will is also an experienced DJ who honed his trade as resident for three years at London’s legendary club The End before it closed in 2009. Since then, he has continued to play across the globe at influential night spots like Fabric in London, Club Eleven in Tokyo, Chinese Laundry in Australia and Berlin’s famed Berghain.

  Getting Closer will be Will’s first full-length album since Space Between, released under his given name back in 2005. He has slowly and anonymously leaked Close material into the public sphere over the last 12 months; including remixes of Fink, Little Dragon and Hotflush boss Scuba. The alias was initially conceived in order to release music that would be judged on merit alone rather than the name to which it was attached, but following great reactions it was increasingly difficult to keep Will’s involvement a secret.  Preceded in mid-April by first single “Beam Me Up” (featuring Charlene Soraia and Scuba as well as remixes by George FitzGerald, Hercules and Love Affair and Scuba) the album marks a major evolution in Saul’s sound, leaning away from bass and house music and more toward a world of dark yet idyllic pop.

  The recording started in Brighton with Fink – one of Will’s oldest friends. The pair recorded a number of live takes of Fink’s band (drummer and bass player) which formed the early sketches that were sent to the featured vocalists – Joe Dukie of Fat Freddies Drop,Tikiman, Charlene Soraia and Fink himself. The songs that came back were then developed further in a heavily electronic setting – a windowless world of analogue toys and geekery - in the studio of Will’s long-term production partner, Tam Cooper. Some of the vocalists came into the studio to record final versions. Some sent the music from far-flung locations. At this stage there was a finished album of sorts but Will wanted to push the tracks further from his comfort zone and reached out to friends Scuba, October, Appleblim,Ewan Pearson and Tanner Ross and the collaboration continued…. Working in this way means each artist has added their own identity to a project tightly helmed by Will; it has been a mutual dialogue where artists have grown ever closer. The unique resulting concept is a dynamic body of work that is set to come even more to life in the live arena.

  The album was conceived with live performance in mind. As such, Bristol producer Al Tourettes has been brought in to play live drums, and a team at Silent Studios has designed an accompanying AV show which will extrapolate the music’s intimacy, warmth and detail into brand new, extra-sensory stimulating territory in a way that few yet have in the electronic realm. Even more than just a collaborative work, then, Getting Closer is an album that draws together many artistic disciplines into one new and exciting concept that hopes to lead the way in avant-guard electronic music and live performance.


01. I Died 1000 Times feat. Charlene Soraia & October
03. My Way feat. Joe Dukie (Tanner Ross & Slow Hands Remix)
04. Cubizm
05. Born In A Rolling Barrel feat. Tikiman, October & Appleblim
06. Time Fades
07. Wallflower feat. Fink
08. Future Love
09. Beam Me Up feat. Charlene Soraia & Scuba
10. Inside